If I Run {by Terri Blackstock}

If I Run -- a thrilling novel by Terri BlackstockIf I reviewed books solely on how fast it took me to read them, this would get a fantastic rating. Having read some of Terri Blackstock’s books before, I knew I would likely be absorbed by this one and my prediction proved true.

It’s been quite a while since I read any fiction and this was a great one to welcome me back into the genre. If I Run‘s gripping story line and well-developed characters hooked me from the start.

The book is written in first person but from two different characters — bouncing back and forth between the two as it progresses. Casey is a girl wanted for murder and Dylan is a private investigator hired by the murdered man’s parents to find her. Blackstock’s writing has you intimate with both persons in no time and you feel like you really understand what’s going on and what they’re experiencing.

There was one twist after another, but surprisingly, there was a whole other subplot happening. This “sub-mystery,” if you will, was amply concluded (though with not as much detail as I would have liked just because I liked the characters so much), but the main story line leaves you on a serious cliffhanger. I’m not a fan of cliffhangers, but I’m sure it sells well.

The characters don’t talk about God or Christianity in a lot of detail but what they do say is Biblically accurate and the best asset of the book. I hope she expounds on it in the sequel.

If someone is looking for a novel that will grip you from the start, that does not have any inappropriateness or profanity and that solves thrilling crimes, I’d definitely give a shout out for If I Run.


I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

