My Mother’s Quilts: Devotions of Love, Legacy, Family and Faith {by Ramona Richards}

My Mother's Quilts, a lovely and light devotional I really enjoyed. The author shares histories of quilts with a lovely writing style and wraps it into a relative life lesson. Great idea for a conversation starter in a group setting or reading individually.My Mother’s Quilts has to be the most unique devotional book I’ve seen. The author has clearly worked very hard at maintaining the history and legacy of much of their family’s past. This must be a very special keepsake for her own family, but it is also a lovely book for others to read.

Each “day” (although it doesn’t have to be read daily) tells a short story — all are well-written, some are funny, many are sincerely memorable and they all center around a specific quilt. We learn the histories of the quilts and the precious details surrounding them.

I wouldn’t plan on using this book for a Bible study or anything very deep. The stories would perhaps make good introductions or conversation starters before other lessons or classes and certainly would be a great thing to read individually to prepare one’s mind for quiet time with God. Every devotion includes a Bible verse and then ties the “theme” of the particular quilt’s story into a life lesson of sorts. It then ends with a “prayer starter,” which relates to the theme as well.

Just the other day, about something else, my mother said to me, “You’ll like it because you’re old-fashioned.” That made me smile, because it’s true! So, I really enjoyed this book because of that part of my personality. I liked hearing the old stories of when life was simpler and I have always had a dream to learn how to quilt!

The book itself is a great compact size, hardback and with its ribbon bookmark, you can easily find where you left off.

I hadn’t heard of Ramona Richards before, but apparently she has several books out there — both fiction and non-fiction. Her writing style was something I enjoyed, so I’ll be on the lookout for another of hers.


I received this book free from the publisher through the Worthy Publishing First Look book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

