One Spring Lamb {by Anne Vittur Kennedy}

This is a sweet new Springtime/Easter board book that is a must for your shelf!Easter is right around the corner and we have just acquired a new children’s book to read in this Spring season. One Spring Lamb is a board book with thoughtfully written rhymes accompanying a small lamb who is exploring the various elements of the new beginnings of the season.

It’s also a counting book and each page counts the next number of items (including ducks, new dresses, flowers, Easter eggs and more).

The first time I read it, I was a little surprised at the last page. It seemed as if Jesus was just “thrown in” to the story line to make it Christian-Easter and not just secular-Easter. The first 90% of the book were just “springtime” aspects. But then I understood it was intended more to celebrate the fact that God gave us all these things – these new living creatures, budding plants and friends. And He also gave us His Son:

“On Easter it’s a joy to know

that Jesus lives and loves me so.”

Once I realized how the author was painting that picture, I appreciated the book more. Like most kids, my son loves books with a rhythm and good pictures. With that criteria, the author has put together an overall lovely book with One Spring Lamb.


I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

 

2 thoughts on “One Spring Lamb {by Anne Vittur Kennedy}

Leave a Reply

