Say & Pray Bible {by Diane Stortz, Illustrated by Sarah Ward}

Say & Pray Bible for young children (a book review)

Over the last couple years of being parents, we have received several children’s or baby’s Bibles — perhaps 5 or 6 — as gifts or hand-me-downs. This particular Bible, however, might be my favorite!

My son, at barely 20 months old, sat through the entire thing right when we received it. I can foresee this being a great book to curl up with at bedtime throughout the next few years, especially as he learns to talk and read.

Each page has cozy, cute artwork and a handful of “word bubbles,” pointing out specific items on the page like “boat,” “Baby Jesus” or “table.” On one side is the story – typically just one sentence long and clearly written – and the other side includes a related Bible verse and a prayer.

A neat thing is that the Bible verse is usually from a different part of the Bible, drawing a picture that the Bible as a whole is God’s Word and that it should be taken as a plenary document. Sure, this is just a simple kids’ version, but I do appreciate that it is accurate in that way.

For one example, the Book of Esther story goes, “Brave Queen Esther talked to the king to save her people.” The related verse is Psalm 56:11: “I trust in God. I will not be afraid.” This seems to give the parent great discussion starters to dive more into the story with whatever depth seems appropriate for the child.

Lastly, the simple prayers (i.e., “Thank You, God, for helping me when I’m scared! Amen.”) seem to be great tools for a new, young Christian in learning how to talk to God. This is vital in our parenting (both teaching and exemplifying) and I am thankful to have this tool on our shelf now.

Take a look inside the book at Amazon.com.
Read more about the author and other books she’s written.


I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

