Crazy Love {by Francis Chan}

Crazy Love (a book review)

I originally hesitated to read this book because I was becoming increasingly paranoid of all the “emergent” churches, speakers and movements occurring. I didn’t feel wise enough in true Biblical knowledge to read books that weren’t Biblically accurate. But this book does not fall in that category at all.

I read Crazy Love a few years ago. I understand that most good book reviews give you an idea of the entire book and if you read its synopsis here on Goodreads, that should give you some clue. However, I couldn’t help but focus my review on one main chapter, entitled Profile of the Lukewarm.

Physically, the book was an easy and short read.  Spiritually, I hope I’m never the same. I should say right now that this book should be read by those who already profess to follow Jesus. I wouldn’t recommend it to non-believers as it doesn’t focus on how to accept Jesus as your Savior, the beginning principles of understanding the faith and the freedom found in Christ. That’s not a bad thing, just a note!

Do not assume you are good soil is the resounding theme of this section. In contrast, Chan believes that most American churchgoers are the soil with the thorns that choke the seed. There are endless distractions in our lives. I mean, just think about yours for a second…just how many toys with screens do you own now? Computers, cell phones, TVs, eReaders, tablets, etc. Don’t get me wrong, I think these are awesome tools to have been invented with high potential for being very effective for ministry. I love living in this generation for that reason. But how muchstuff do you have that you like? Do you love all of it? Do you always wish for some new toy?

“When we want God and a bunch of other stuff, then that means we have thorns in our soil.  A relationship with God simply cannot grow when money, sins, activities, favorite sports teams, addictions or commitments are piled on top of it.”

In this chapter, Francis Chan throws out scenario after scenario that just weigh heavy with convicting powers. He wants you to think deeply about your relationship with Jesus and ask yourself, “Do I think I’m a good Christian just because I attend church regularly, tithe consistently, give to other charities, don’t drink and try not to swear?” Because, I’m sorry folks, without anything else, that signifies a lukewarm Christian.

How easy is it for you to tell family, friends and strangers about your faith? I know I am totally not good at this. Some of us don’t want to be rejected, some don’t want to make people uncomfortable…but Matthew 10:32-33 couldn’t be more black and white: “Whoever acknowledges me before others, I will also acknowledge before my Father in heaven. But whoever disowns me before others, I will disown before my Father in heaven.”

Will you be acknowledged or disowned?

Do you gauge your “goodness” by comparing yourself to others?  Do you love Jesus and want him part of your life…but only a part?  Do you love others…but not quite as much as you love yourself?

Chan talks about all this and more, but the best part of it – he brings each one of these questions to the Bible. He references verses and passages for every subject and sub-subject and brings to light words we may have heard a thousand times.

God wants all of us. He deserves all of us. Watch this short video by Francis Chan that sums up everything I just tried to say in a direct and impacting manner.

Too strong? Made you uncomfortable? Areas in your life you might change now? Oh yeah…

Find the book’s website (including sample sections) here.
Find the author’s website here.

Leave a Reply

